About Us

Emergency Management is a coordinated effort, involving local, state, and federal government agencies as well as volunteer organizations and businesses. Within an integrated emergency management framework, these entities assist citizens and their communities to prepare for, respond to, recover from, and eliminate or reduce the effects of natural, man-made, civil, and technological emergencies and disasters.

Iowa Code states that each county shall form an Emergency Management Commission and that the commission shall consist of a member of the Board of Supervisors, the Sheriff or the Sheriff’s representative, and the mayor or the mayor’s representative from each city within the county. The commission members are the operations liaison officers between their jurisdiction and the commission.

Further, Iowa Code states that the Commission shall appoint a Coordinator. The coordinator oversees the day-to-day activities of the office and fulfills the planning, training and exercise requirements outlined in Iowa Code. Despite the name of the office being “Dickinson County Emergency Management”, the Coordinator reports directly to the Emergency Management Commission, and not to the Board of Supervisors. Per Iowa code section 29C, the Emergency Management Commission is a municipality, as defined by code section 670.1.

Emergency Management Coordinator

Rick Wulfekuhle
Buchanan County Emergency Management, Coordinator, CEM
Iowa Emergency Management Association, President
Safety Director for Buchanan County

Under the office of Emergency Management:
1) Serve as Member of the E-911 Commission
2) Serve as Executive Secretary of the Emergency Operations Center Board
3) Serve as Executive Secretary of the Local Emergency Planning Commission
4) Experienced with several Local and State-wide disasters to include 5 Presidential declarations

Currently serving as Assistant Chief of the Independence Volunteer Fire Department – 15 + years
(Nationally certified Fire Fighter I, Fire Fighter II, Fire Instructor I)
Board Member on the Buchanan County Firemen’s Association
Buchanan County Extension Council – Past President