Planning & Zoning Commission

The Buchanan County Zoning Commission meets in regular session at 7:00 PM on the first Tuesday of every month in the Buchanan County Public Health meeting room located at 1413 1st St W, Independence, Iowa.   The meetings are open to the public and anyone wishing to attend is welcome.

The Zoning Commission is a nine (9) member group of County residents whose purpose is to make recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on applications to amend the Zoning Ordinance and the Official Zoning Maps.

The current Zoning Commission is as follows:

  • Mike Robinson, Chairperson
  • Bronson Wierck, Vice-Chairperson
  • Marlene Brown
  • Steve Saathoff
  • Elena Schmitz
  • Tracy Franck
  • Kathy Cole
  • Gary Waters
  • Wendy Spefslage

 Buchanan County Planning & Zoning • 210 5th Ave NE Suite I, Independence, IA 50644 • P (319) 334-2873 • F (319) 334-3028