About Public Health

The Public Health Department exists to provide services within Buchanan County to assure health is protected and promoted, and to prevent the spread of disease through follow-up and investigation of communicable diseases. Tasks are performed utilizing the Core Public Health Functions and Essential Services. The Community Health Needs Assessment and the Development of a Health Improvement Plan is performed within the county to assist the local Board of Health in program planning. The Department receives funding from the Iowa Department of Public Health and other sources to assist with funding for services.

The Buchanan County Board of Health consists of five members:
Chairperson: Brad Kegler, D.D.S.
Vice Chair: Amber Hunt, NHA
Secretary: Dr. Rick McCormick, D.O.
Josh Bowden, DVM
Rhonda Jasper, RN

The Board of Health meets monthly on the fourth Wednesday of the month at 7:00AM in the meeting room at the Public Health Department. The Board of Health is the governing board of the Public Health Department.

The Public Health Department works closely with the Environmental Health section of Buchanan County Public Health, which is located at the Buchanan County Courthouse, and receives grant funding through the Iowa Department of Public Health. Inquiries regarding Environmental Health issues such as bats, bed bugs, rats, septic systems, wells, food inspection, etc. should be directed to 319-334-2873.

We are a member of the Iowa Public Health Association and the Iowa Counties Public Health Association.

Buchanan County Public Health Notice of Privacy Practices  Non-Discrimination Statement